Happy Provisioning with Chef

Few days ago I started a system administration activity
which involved, among the other things, to move several services we had hosted on a local data center to cloud hosted VMs.

I approached this activity making a short plan, and started configuring machines and doing all
the stuff manually. I was quite confident that it would not cost me much, given I have full knowledge
of all the services hosted there. It was either WordPress or Textpattern instances, and several Rails driven
website and web applications.

We never had the time and the will to start using any kind of automatic provisioning tool. I don't know exactly why, maybe we were scared by the learning time required. Come on, after all you only have to apt-get install it! Well, now I know you don't realize how much you need it until you have to replicate everything somewhere else.

The second day I started to realize I had to take that chance to start using a provisioning tool.
Even though I had clear in my mind all the necessary steps to take in order to move one thing from one place to the other, doing all configurations manually is simply something human brain in not made to handle,
especially if you jump from one task to another trying to save time.

The final blow was given by a particular package one application was requiring. We did a manual compilation and the procedure was not documented anywhere. It took me half a day to sort it out. Totally energy draining activity. It never had to happen again.

Chef or Puppet

I did a short research, knowing that something called Puppet was out there. At the same time I knew there was something called Chef doing same thing. I'm a Ruby developer, but I know Python as well, having worked with it for a few years in the past. It should not be so, but knowing you master the programming language a tool is built on makes you more confident about it. If something is not clear or lacking docs you can always inspect the code and understand it.

If fought hard with myself to keep this feeling down in the hole, but I admit it played a role in the final decision. Chef seems to be well documented and tremendously community supported, but not as much as Puppet, being that a much more established and aged project.

I played a little with Chef, I was able to get up and running very quickly, I didn't feel like I could achieve the same speed with Puppet given my confidence with ruby files, so the choice was done. (Hours later this choice was done, I was really happy I made it)

Chef Solo

Chef Solo is the version of Chef which doesn't require a separate server instance to run. It's basically just a gem with an executable that runs your scripts. Start with it of course. In my case I have a folder with cookbooks, data bags, and node files and I just rsync everything to the node I'm working on.

Time saving hints

I suggest you to go and watch this RailsCasts. You'll have a nice hands-on short introduction. Next, these are a few time saving hints I wish I was given before starting.

File names matter

Chef expects to have file names matching other file names or directory names sometime. This is important to understand, especially in the case of Data Bags: DataBag files contain json configuration options, which must include an "id" key, and the "id" key has to match the file name.

Read the documentation page about 'Resource'

This page. You'll find there most of the DSL commands you need to know early, such as create users, create groups, download files, install packages, and run bash scripts.

Node configuration options precedence

There's a precedence system in setting recipe options. You can have them in attributes folder, you can have them in node files, and maybe somewhere else I still don't know. You can have a default value, you can set one or you can override.

Encrypted Data Bags are not ready for Chef Solo

Encrypted Data Bags are the feature which allows you to keep encrypted configuration keys saved into your provisioning files, and have them decrypted during installation, so you don't have to copy and paste ssh keys for example, or type the root mysql password each time during installation. This is the feature I was more interested in, but unfortunately I had to fight a little to make it work with Chef Solo. But in the end I did it, I'll post shortly on it, just the time to clean it up a little.

Conclusion

Folder structure is intuitive, I found a lot of ready made recipes and cookbooks I'll need to use, like the one for user specific RVM installation. I like the result I achieved with just one day with it and very few lines of ruby code. Sounds like a good start.

Leave a Reply

